Content Synchronization: Why Screens Refresh While Updating Channels or Playlists

Avatar
by Santino Scibelli
Follow

This article will review content synchronization while using ScreenCloud, and how publishing changes to your channels or playlists affect screen refresh.

Table of contents:

What is content synchronization?

Which actions make the screens refresh automatically?

 

What is content synchronization?

Content synchronization is a feature in the background of ScreenCloud which ensures all of your screens running the same channel or playlist remain in sync with each other at all times while devices are connected to a stable internet connection. This helps push the most updated changes and updates to your screens, or if the content is scheduled from a channel to synchronize any adjustments made to display live on your digital screens.

For instance, you may notice that the ScreenCloud player on your device automatically reboots or refreshes during synchronization. Please note, this is an intentional feature meant to constantly check data in your account in connection with your screens.

 

Which actions make the screens refresh automatically?

There are specific actions on your account that automatically refresh your screens. Please review below for common scenarios where your screens will refresh:

i) Publishing and making changes to your channels: when publishing or updating your channels (i.e. schedules), this can force an automatic restart or refresh for your screens running the channel. For example, if you’ve made a schedule update for existing or new content to run at a certain day or time when you click “Publish” this will sync with the ScreenCloud player in order to run your updates on screen.

 

ii) Publishing and making changes to your playlists: when publishing or updating your playlists (i.e. setlists of content which run on a loop), this can force an automatic restart or refresh for your screens running the playlist. For example, if you’ve made changes to a playlist and added new content to run or removed any existing content from your playlist then this will sync when you click “Publish” in order to run your updates on screen.

 

If you have any additional questions on content synchronization or any other questions or feedback about ScreenCloud, feel free to reach out to our support team at support@screencloud.com or give us a call at our toll-free support line at +18885575335.

Comments

0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.