Managing Custom Roles and Permissions in ScreenCloud

Avatar
by Santino
Follow

This article will review how to manage custom roles and permissions while using People, Groups, and Spaces in your ScreenCloud account. You can use the default permissions available when inviting users, or use this feature to customize roles for your account.

Please note that the following article below does not include full instructions on how to set up People, Groups, and Spaces. This is an overview of the custom roles and permissions feature which can be used for managing groups in your account. To learn more about how to use People, Groups, and Spaces please click here.

This feature is only available as a premium add-on feature for your ScreenCloud account. To learn more about pricing for this, please reach out to support@screencloud.com and we can help connect you to a member of our team. 

Table of contents:

1. What are the custom roles and permissions features?

2. How can I create custom roles?

3. Custom roles overview

4. Assign custom roles to groups

5. Frequently asked questions

 

1. What are the custom roles and permissions features?

 

Custom roles are a feature in your ScreenCloud account which provides you with full control over your users and teams. It allows you to specify down to the action or feature for which groups of users can perform. Creating and managing custom roles is useful for:

  • Advanced control over user actions and functions
  • Increased account security by overseeing granular permissions
  • Flexibility for making specific changes to groups access
  • Tailor permissions based on teams, departments or events 

Custom roles offer a more streamlined and organized approach for managing how your teams can use ScreenCloud.

 

2. How can I create custom roles?

In order to use custom roles and permissions, you’ll first need to have users invited to your ScreenCloud account.

2.1. Invite people to your account

2.2. Create groups to segment users

2.3. Create custom roles for your groups

 

2.1. Invite people to your account

Get started by visiting https://studio.screencloud.com/people. From here, click on the yellow "Invite People" button to begin adding a new email address to your ScreenCloud account.

 

Once you’ve invited an email to your account, the user will receive an email inviting them to join your account. Please note, if a user already has an email address that is connected with any existing ScreenCloud account they will need to select “Already have an account” to log in with their credentials. For more information on inviting users, please click here.

 

2.2. Create groups to segment users

With users successfully invited to your ScreenCloud account, you can create groups to segment them. You can manage permissions according to job titles, responsibilities, or location based on your preference for each. You can also control which groups have access to Spaces (i.e. teams) for managing specific screens, channels, playlists, and media. For example, you can create a Billing group with access to every Space with admin permissions to access payment information or marketing groups with access to certain Spaces for adding media.

For more information on creating groups, please click here.

 

2.3. Begin creating custom roles for your groups

By default for your groups, you’re provided with five roles you can use to get started assigning your users with access privileges.

You can click on “New Role” to begin creating a new role to customize and manage.

 

3. Custom Roles overview

Once you’ve selected “New Role”, you’re prompted with a pop-up window to begin customizing the role.

 

i) Name: first you can name your custom role. For example, if you wanted to specify permissions for the Marketing team in your company then you could name it “Marketing”.

 

ii) Select a color: you can select a unique color to help label and keep track of your custom roles. You can also enter a color-hex code into the selector tool to populate any color you’d like.

 

iii) Description: you can enter a description of the role and place any relevant information you’d like. Please note that this field is required to fill out for creating a custom role.

 

iv) Permissions: you can use the filter menu from the right-hand side to select and choose any of the permissions you’d like to assign to this group. You can browse through, or search for key terms, to select each access right to assign this role. For an overview of all our permissions available and descriptions, please click here.

 

You can also grant all permissions by selecting the “Grant all permissions” option. Please note, this will give users access to all features and billing information for your ScreenCloud account. We also advise reviewing any permissions which are required for others to work properly. For example, “space:read” is required for many permissions to work properly. Any permissions which are noted to be required must be checked off in order for certain features to work for your custom roles.

 

Once you’re done selecting all of your permissions for this role, select the “Create” button and you can now assign this role to any of your groups. 

 

4. Assign custom roles to groups

When creating or editing a group you’ll be able to select any of your custom roles from the list. You can hover over any group and select it to prompt a pop-up window to make changes. 

 

While customizing your group, you can select “Grant Access” to select the role you’d like to assign. Alternatively, you can also remove or delete any role to re-assign new permissions to your group.

 

5. Frequently asked questions

Can I customize any of the pre-set roles in my ScreenCloud account?

The preset roles which are available to you by default cannot be customized or changed. These are standard permissions for your ScreenCloud account if you’d like to make any updates we recommend to duplicate a role and edit it.

 

For example, you can select the drop-down menu options while viewing your roles and select “Duplicate” to use this as a template for your own custom roles.

 

If I delete a custom role, how does this affect groups assigned to that role?

When a custom role is deleted, please note that the role will be removed from the groups it was assigned to. This means that this would place these users into a group automatically without any permission and will not have access to the ScreenCloud Studio account. You can still change and coordinate any access you see fit for groups after deleting a custom role previously assigned to them.

 

Are there any limits to the number of custom roles that can be created?

There are no limits to how many roles you can create, but please note that this feature is only available as a premium add-on at an additional cost for your ScreenCloud account. Please connect with support@screencloud.com and our team will be able to help put you in touch with direct contact to discuss further.

 

If you have any additional questions on using ScreenCloud’s Custom Roles feature, or any other questions or feedback about ScreenCloud, feel free to reach out to our support team at support@screencloud.com or give us a call at our toll-free support line at +18885575335.

Comments

0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.